Menu for Atlanta Falcons Fans

I’m not a big football fan. I didn’t grow up in a football town – baseball & hockey are much bigger in St Louis than football; I didn’t go to a big football college either. However, my husband likes watching football & so does his family. So, today, the Atlanta Falcons are playing in the NFC championship game and Eric’s family is over to watch the game. Of course, I am cooking (it IS all about the food). I tried to create a menu based on some ingredients associated with Georgia – Vidalia onions, peaches and Coca-Cola. My menu for today is:

Munchies

  • Baked Vidalia Onion Dip served with Triscuits
  • Peach Salsa (purchased from Costco) served with tortilla chips
  • Palmetto brand Pimento Dip (purchased from Publix) served with Wheat Thins
Baked Vidalia Onion Dip

Baked Vidalia Onion Dip

Pimento Cheese Football

Pimento Cheese Football

I molded the pimento dip into a football-shaped cake pan and my older son decorated it with pimento strips to look like a football. 

Dinner

  • “Dirty Bird” Chicken Sandwiches (crock-pot Coca-Cola BBQ chicken)
  • Coleslaw (my own recipe)
  • Baked Beans – I buy the Bush’s brand Vegetarian Beans

The Baked Vidalia Onion dip recipe and BBQ chicken recipe both come from The Official SEC Tailgating Cookbook by Southern Living. The vidalia onion dip was fantastic but the BBQ chicken recipe was so-so. I put out some bottled BBQ sauce for people to add to their sandwiches.

 

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches with Coleslaw

BBQ Chicken Sandwiches with Coleslaw

Rise Up Falcons!! – edited: There’s Always Next Year

3 thoughts on “Menu for Atlanta Falcons Fans

Leave a Reply

