Easy Greek Marinade and Tzatziki Sauce

Last Sunday (yes, I’m behind), after spending several hot hours at the pool (the car thermometer read 109), I was trying to decide what to do with the chicken I defrosted for dinner and, came up with my easy fall-back recipe – a Greek-style marinade for the chicken which hubby then grilled. This is my go-to recipe when I’m not feeling particularly imaginative, inspired or motivated to cook dinner. I served it with tzatziki sauce and roasted zucchini.

Greek Marinade

This is delicious with chicken, lamb and shrimp. It makes enough to marinate your choice of protein for 4-6 people and takes just a few minutes to mix up. I have no idea where I got the original recipe but it’s been modified numerous times over the years anyway.

The ingredients are readily available and with the exception of the Cavendar’s you probably already have them in the house. And, after you buy the Cavendar’s, you can whip it up any time.

  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice (fresh is better but bottled is fine)
  • 1 tsp Cavendar’s Greek Seasoning
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
Mix it all together. I generally marinate in a gallon-size resealable plastic bag.
Note: Cavendar’s Seasoning is also great on roasted potatoes and mixed in with orzo tossed with olive oil.

Tzatziki Sauce

This recipe is modified from one in a Williams-Sonoma cookbook called “Small Plates”. We love this served with the Greek chicken above. Sometimes I’ll cut up the chicken and serve it with flatbread (in the deli area of the grocery by the pita bread) and diners can make their own chicken “gyros”.  It’s also wonderful paired with hummus (I’ll have to put that recipe in another post) and pita chips or flatbread cut into wedges as an appetizer. This is very popular when brought to parties

  • 1 English cucumber, ends trimmed (I don’t bother peeling or seeding)
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher salt
  • 2 cups Greek yogurt (I prefer Fage Total 0%)
  • 2-4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 Tbsp fresh mint, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp fresh dill, chopped
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice

Grate the cucumber (I use my food processor) and spread on a paper towel-lined plate. Sprinkle with salt. Let sit; the salt will draw the water out of the cucumber which will make your tzatziki less runny, which is a good thing.

Meanwhile, combine the yogurt, garlic, mint, dill, olive oil & lemon juice.  Add cucumber and mix to incorporate. Chill until serving time.

Notes – in my photo of ingredients there is no mint because: (1) this was a last minute dinner idea, (2) I only have dill growing in my garden and (3) wasn’t about to run to the grocery for mint after spending a couple of hours at the pool. If you don’t have fresh dill you can substitute dried dill; use about 2 tsp. Don’t bother substituting dried mint for the fresh; it’s not worth it and the sauce tastes fine without it.

Do you have a favorite fall-back recipe? What is it? Let me know if you try mine and what you think!

One thought on “Easy Greek Marinade and Tzatziki Sauce

  1. Pingback: Hummus | cuisinebysuzanne

Leave a Reply

